Corbyn’s seat at risk under plans to cull MPs


The political map of all four nations of the United Kingdom will be redrawn so each seat will contain an average of 75,000 voters – and the number of MPs will be reduced from 650 to 600.

The constituencies earmarked for extinction will be absorbed by their neighbours to save £66m over five years, as well as giving equal weight to each seat.

Constitution minister Chris Skidmore says the Government is “committed to ensuring fair and equal representation for the voting public across the UK”.

The initial proposals for England and Wales will be the subject of public consultation before the final map is submitted in 2018 to be used in the next election in 2020.

A number of other high-profile politicians may have to fight to keep their place in the Commons, including Education Secretary Justine Greening, former chancellor George Osbourne and Labour leadership contender Owen Smith, whose Pontypridd seat would be merged with neighbouring Cynon Valley.

Under the proposals, twice as many seats held by the Labour Party would be affected compared with those represented by Conservative MPs.

Labour shadow minister Jon Ashworth described the changes as “unfair, undemocratic and unacceptable”, adding: “They are based on an out-of-date version of the electoral register with nearly two million voters missing.”

A spokesman said Mr Corbyn would see many of his Islington North supporters shift to the new constituency of Finsbury Park and Stoke Newington, so there’s “every reason to believe” he will remain in Parliament.

The concern for many Labour backbenchers facing reselection who voted against the leader is that the grassroots movement Momentum might field candidates more sympathetic to Mr Corbyn’s cause.

The number of MPs will be cut from 533 to 501 in England, from 59 to 53 in Scotland, from 40 to 29 in Wales and 18 to 17 in Northern Ireland.

Scotland’s Boundary Commission will publish its proposals on 20 October.

News Source SkyNews

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

We use cookies to personalize your user experience and to study how our website is being used. Learn More About Cookies Okay I Got It